Everyday Tactical Exclusive Interview with Larry Vickers!…

 

1309295927IMG_8063

A short while ago, I contacted Mr. Vickers about doing an interview with me for the blog. He graciously agreed and below is the result of our conversation. Enjoy!

For those of you who don’t  know who Larry Vickers is here is a quick rundown. Larry is a 20 year SOF veteran having spent 15 of those with Delta Force and retiring from the service 8 years ago. He was involved in the opening raid of the Panama Invasion and other high-speed classified operations! Besides conducting world class training, Larry also hosts his own show, “Tac-TV” which airs on the Sportsman Channel M @ 8p / Thur @ 2:30a / Fri @ 5:30p

Thanks Larry for the great interview!

Q.) When did your interest in firearms and the military begin?

A.) My interest with firearms began when my father, a WW II vet, gave me my first 22 bolt action single shot rifle – that combined with his stories about WW II and I was hooked.

Q.) After talking with you and reading your bio about your involvement in the Panama Invasion and Somalia Action, were there any other missions that were memorable that you can discuss?

A.) Not really – much of my time in Spec Ops is still classified and based on the activities of our forces around the world not a topic we need to discuss.

Q.) What is the hardest part of Delta mission?

A.) Same answer as above – can’t really discuss it

Q.) Being a high speed operator and not on a mission or training – just spending time with family and friends and knowing that sometimes the training just kicks in, how did you “Turn it off?”

A.) In a sense you never do – you need to maintain certain level of situational awareness at all times; that is just the nature of the lifestyle.

Q.) To give readers an idea of what SOF families are going through with loved ones on current deployments, how hard was the nature of your work on your family?

A.) I was fortunate in a way as I did not have a family until late in my career so most of the time while I was operational I was single- which is ideal in this kind of work.

Q.) After leaving the service you began conducting training classes. How did this come about?

A.) I had requests from LEO’s and civilians to teach some basic marksmanship classes and it has grown from there – now I travel all over the USA teaching on a monthly basis.

Q.) What do you find is the most rewarding part of teaching others in your programs?

A.) Emails I get on occasion from former students – several from my Spec Ops days – thanking me for my efforts and providing feedback on the skills I passed on to them in the GWOT and the difference it has made.

Q.) What will someone learn in a Larry Vickers Class?

A.) The meat and potatoes of combat marksmanship – the real deal fundamentals on using a carbine or a pistol in the real world.

Q.) The world wants to know…What’s in Larry Vickers GO-BAG?

A.) Generally a Glock 17 with some specific duty related mods and a properly set up DD M4 carbine – that is what I have been using for a few years with good results.

Q.) You worked with HK on the design and development of a few weapons. What were they and what was the most valuable thing you learned during that time?

A.) The weapons were the HK416 and the full-size and compact HK 45 – it was a great experience as I was able to provide input and watch as these weapons went from the drawing board to hardware; I must say I enjoyed every minute of it.

Q.) Being a highly respected 1911 expert, how much of the gun’s spirit worked its way into the HK45?

A.) Some 1911 design influence is present on the HK45 like being able to carry it cocked and locked but the pistol is really a natural evolution of the HK USP family – which has morphed into the P2000 and P30 as well ; the USP has proven to be a great starting point to develop pistols from.

Q.) How did you wind up getting on television?

A.) Television found me- I did not go looking for it. I did a few things for Discovery TacTv_FinalChannel and ended up being on Weaponology but my big break came when I was approached by Sportsman Channel to host a tactical firearms TV show – thus Tactical Impact was born; it has been four years now and I am now doing my own show with my film crew ( same guys I have been with since day one – we have become great friends) and it is called TacTV – we are excited about it.

Q.) How long does it take to make an episode of TAC TV?

A.) Filming wise about 2 days – the real work is editing; that takes a lot longer. The guys who edit really earn their money.

Q.) In our conversation you mentioned a TAC TV web project. Can you tell us what you are working on?

A.) We believe the Internet is the future of TV – and we want to have a truly unique online TV experience for the tactical guns and gear guys with our website when it launches – which will be soon; my director is making sure it is ready to go before it goes live. It should be very cool.

Q.) How will this project transform TAC TV?

A.) One way is the show will be more and more tailored over time for the online viewer – should be a unique experience.

Q.) What do see the future holding for TAC TV and the internet?

A.) We believe the Internet is the future of TV – and we want to have a truly unique online TV experience for the tactical guns and gear guys with our website when it launches – which will be soon; my director is making sure it is ready to go before it goes live. It should be very cool.

One way is the show will be more and more tailored over time for the online viewer – should be a unique experience

I think TV shows will eventually have full format shows online and not just bonus content – our show for instance will have material that is online only because we have no time restraints; episodes can be as long as we want

Q.) Is the web channel going to be all TAC TV or are you looking to add different programs and content but still focused on all things tactical?

A.) Not sure yet – we want to get the website launched and go from there.

Q.) Where is Larry Vickers going to be in 5 years?

A.) Not sure where I will be in 5 years but I am looking forward to the journey!!

Links…

http://www.tac-tv.com/

http://vickerstactical.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

