Stronger than a speeding bullet…

We all carry weapons for varying reasons, most of which are personal but one common underlying purpose is that of self-defense. God forbid, someone is approaching you in a threatening manner…the hairs on your neck rise up…you see the threat and engage it. Thank goodness for your sidearm right? But what if you don’t know where the threat is coming from? Worse yet, your in a crowd and shots ring out…

Think Active Shooter…

Your gun is great tool for self-defense but in an active shooter situation, pulling your weapon without a clean line of sight on the shooter is the worst possible thing you could do. It could get you shot by another CCW holder in the crowd or by Law Enforcement that are trying to responding to the event. Now I know some of you Armchair Rambos’ out there would put on your bandana, whip out your gun and start blazing away! Not a good idea. There are too many things to consider, who’s behind the target? Do you have a clean line of sight? Are you close enough to drop him? Is that really the shooter or another armed citizen trying to stop the rampage like you? As for me, I’m grabbing my go-bag and I’m gone!

As you can see from the scenario above, sometimes pulling your weapon isn’t the best way to protect yourself. So what should you do? Experts recommend running away from the shots, finding cover and putting something between you and the shooter…

This is where the Bullet Blocker comes in! They are a company that specializes in manufacturing  up-armored backpacks, brief cases and portfolios. If they don’t have something for your exact need, you can buy the panels and do it yourself and if that’s not enough they can make custom inserts to your specifications! In fact, Bullet Blocker has just teamed up with Voodoo Tactical and they are turning out some great armored products!

I can tell you that after using my insert I will be getting one for each of my children when they start carrying backpacks to school. As a parent it’s my job to do everything in my power to make sure they are safe and a panel or pack from Bullet Blocker will give me a little more peace of mind.

Meanwhile, back at the review….

So I received a Level IIIA panel several weeks ago and have been using it ever since. After the obligatory once over checking material quality, stitching and attention to detail I began to move it from bag to bag to check portability and ease of use. The panel has been in all of my go bags and backpacks fitting in some better than others. The added weight (12oz.) is minimal and more than worth it considering the protection afforded by the panel. I don’t leave the house without it…seriously…It goes everywhere with me.

The one thing that struck me the most was the versatility of the insert. Not only will it fit in just about anything with a pocket, but it has three grommets for placing in a binder and is just the right size to fit on a clipboard! Bullet Blocker really took their time to come up with a quality product and it shows.

I understand, just like the instruction sheet that came with the panel said, getting shot carries a certain amount of risk and nothing comes with a 100% guarantee, but let me tell you, this is one product you shouldn’t pass up. There are a lot of things that need to go into a go-bag…water, tools, food and now a  Level IIIA ballistic panel from Bullet Blocker!

Click here for more information…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

